Escrow – Cash Held in Account vs Check held by Title Company as Earnest Money

HOME Forum General Questions Escrow – Cash Held in Account vs Check held by Title Company as Earnest Money

This topic contains 3 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Michael Rountree 1 year, 7 months ago.

• Author

Michael Rountree
    Participant

Hi, I am a new student and I have a question related to performance as it relates to Earnest Money.
    If a buyer is required to deposit earnest money to be held in escrow and that buyer gives the holder… in this case a title company explicit instruction NOT to cash the check but hold it, does this invalidate any agreement as earnest money is to be held in escrow. My contention here is that a check being held with explicit instruction NOT to cash is just a piece of paper and not actual funds until it is cashed and deposited in an escrow account.
    As the seller am I obligated to perform under these conditions or did the buyer fail to fulfill the terms of the agreement and therefore break the contract.
    TIA – KR

Brian Swan
    Keymaster

Interesting questions. Here’s how I analyze it: A buyer cannot give such instruction to the title company without the seller’s agreement. The REPC is a state required form and the language directs the buyer to deliver earnest money to the buyer’s brokerage. If the buyer would rather the check be held by the title company, the seller and buyer would have to agree to that in an addendum to the REPC.