How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Utah
Becoming a real estate agent in Utah is a fairly straightforward process. It does, however, require a decent amount of time going through curriculum to meet regulations. Below is a quick overview of the whole process and details on each step.
- 1. Meet the basic requirements
- 2. Complete a pre-licensing course
- 3. Pass the Utah pre-licensing exam
- 4. Pay the license fee
After those four easy steps, you will then be a fully licensed real estate agent in the state of Utah. If you are looking for a more in depth explanation of these requirements, continue reading.
The Basic Requirements
Every real estate agent in Utah must meet a few basic standards before earning their real estate license. These requirements include: be 18 years old or older; have a high school diploma or GED; be a US citizen or legal alien; and undergo an extensive background check. If you do not meet one or more of these requirements you cannot move on in the process to become a real estate agent.
Complete a Pre-Licensing Course
In Utah, your pre-licensing course is 120 hours. This may be one of the longest requirements in the nation, however, you will gain a lot of information that will help you once you earn your Utah real estate license. You will learn things such as property valuation and appraisal, federal laws governing real estate activities, Utah water rights, and so much more.
Lucky for you, starting a pre-licensing course is only a couple of clicks away. Stringham Schools offers all the courses you will need to become a real estate agent in Utah.
If you currently have an active license in another state, there is a possibility of having some of the required hours waived by the Utah Division of Real Estate. Please contact them prior to signing up for a Pre-licensing Course to see if you qualify for waived hours.
Pass the Utah Pre-licensing Exam
The pre-licensing exam is 130 multiple-choice questions and must be completed in 4 hours or less. Exams are administered on the computer through the state approved testing provider, Pearson Vue. The exam fee is $59 and is required at the time you make your exam reservation.
Pay The License Fee
All that remains is to pay $157 license fee and you will obtain your very own Utah real estate license.
Now you no longer have to wonder how to become a real estate agent in Utah. You can start the process by registering for your pre-licensing course here. If you have any questions about the process please call the Utah Division of Real Estate at (801) 530-6747.